ATLA Historical Monographs Collection (Series 1 & 2)

The ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1922. Series 1 includes monographs prior to the 1893 World Parliament of Religions, while Series 2 covers 1893 through 1922. This resource is vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice, particularly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. 

header icon

At a Glance


Two Series:

Preserved and curated by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this collection contains more than 29,000 titles and features over 50 languages, including German, Italian, and Spanish. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.

Learn more about the individual series: 

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 (Late 13th Century - 1893) 

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2 (1894 - 1922)

The ATLA Historical Monographs Collection is also available in 11 thematic subsets.